Visual impairment and inclusive curricula

On Twitter I set up a script to tweet something every day from an archive of tweets. Today it chose to link to a report of a workshop I chaired on Visual impairment in maths, stats and operational research (MSOR). I got a reply thanking me for the link. I won’t say who because the account is private, but this person said this is really useful as they work supporting a blind student. The purpose of this post is to point to a few further links that may be useful.

First, I co-authored Visual impairment in MSOR, a report on a piece of research I was involved with. The report itself may interest and some of the references used may be useful to read.

Next, Accessibility in MSOR: one student’s personal experience may be interesting.

The MSOR Network, my current employer, runs a working group on disability, Accessing MSOR, which operates through a mailing list that you may wish to join. To join requires authorisation, so you should email the group chair Emma Cliffe and introduce yourself so she knows to approve you.

Last year my project supported a workshop on inclusive curricula and Emma Cliffe is currently preparing a booklet based on this workshop ‘Good Practice on Inclusive Curricula in the Mathematical Sciences‘. I will announce on this blog when this is published.

We have also supported a project Methods to produce flexible and accessible learning resources in mathematics. This aims to address an issue arising from the above activity. The description of the project is below:

A curriculum barrier for students with disabilities is the delivery of mathematical learning resources such as lecture notes, problem and solution sheets in inaccessible formats. The current practise of repeatedly re-typesetting notes in to produce particular formats is expensive in the long run. We will develop methods, instructions and examples by which a single master copy may be used to automatically produce a variety of formats. Thus all resources are updated from a master enabling departments to make proactive adjustments. The methods will be appropriate for use by individual lecturers/departments with access to a small range of mathematical/assistive technologies.
One response to “Visual impairment and inclusive curricula

  1. Thanks for this – I have signed up for the email list. I wanted to attend the ACCESS MSOR meeting today but came down with a cold so couldn’t get there. If you were to blog about it I would be very pleased! I work in teaching maths for biosciences and helping SpLD science and maths students with study skills so am v interested.